Nyaa Reborn Update

First, let me apologize for the length of this post. I am trying to cover all aspects of the advent of nyaa clones. If you don’t care about the alleged nyaa controversy or general subbing/translating drama, feel free to ignore this post. For those who do care, please read everything so you understand my position.

It has come to my attention that there seems to be some controversy between whether or not i7 Scans should support nyaa.si or not. Currently, it seems that the main point of contention is whether to use nyaa.si, who many believe to be a pirated (stolen?) version of nyaa.se, or whether to use nyaa.pantsu.cat, who are supposedly comprised of some of the original nyaa members, but based on some internet hearsay had a member who ostensibly said something that was construed as offensive (racist?). In both cases, the intentions of each group and its members is nebulous since I have yet to see actual concrete proof beyond what has been branded as racism/piracy is anything less than inference. I am not saying that people didn’t reach these inferences for good reason, simply that I don’t have the time to sort out internet drama and hearsay.

I will say that I do not want any part of this controversy or the drama that ensues. I am solely here to translate manga for those who are interested and for the benefit of improving my Japanese comprehension. I don’t condone racism or theft, so until I can confirm any intent of ill will from either site, I will not officially support nor endorse one or the other. I will leave it to the individual person to choose which tracker they wish to support:

nyaa.pantsu.cat

nyaa.si

I have deleted my original “Nyaa Reborn” post, so that no one misconstrues my inaction as support or endorsement for one over the other.

This being said, if you understand how torrent trackers work, DHT works, and you have DHT enabled, then you will understand why I say that from a purely technical (and not ethical or moral) perspective that supporting neither of these groups is not an issue. DHT will find you peers from which to download your torrent (some of these peers may have downloaded pieces from either tracker or none of them) independent from any tracker.

2 thoughts on “Nyaa Reborn Update

  1. Mm…personally, I prefer nyaa.si since it performs and looks better. Wouldn’t have found it without your help. Considering that they’ve been adding new features over the past week, the pirated claim sounds like bunk to me as you really need to understand the codebase before you can even think about modifying it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

